Starkland logo spacer




Available March 1, 2019

Available now

Žibuoklė Martinaitytė:
In Search of Lost Beauty…

Tim Brady CD

“If this music transports you into a haunting, mysterious dream world, don’t worry about it – it’s only doing its job.”
– Ingram Marshall

This CD presents the premiere recording of Žibuoklė Martinaitytė’s hauntingly immersive, 70-minute In Search of Lost Beauty… Martinaitytė comments:

In Search of Lost Beauty... is a sequence of audiovisual novellas on the elusive subject of beauty – an attempt to recreate the experience in which time is slowed down in order to transport us into an alternate dimension where the commonly apprehended reality is inverted into the otherworldly mystique of reflections and shadows.”

Ingram Marshall concludes, “Martinaitytė has created a world of hidden beauty in a bridge-like form that begs you to enter.”

Tim Brady:
Music for Large Ensemble

Tim Brady CD

Two major compositions, from the acclaimed composer and electric guitar virtuoso Tim Brady, receive their premiere recordings on this CD. One is the driving, high-energy Désir: concerto for electric guitar and large chamber ensemble, and the other is the intensely harrowing, yet poignant, Eight Songs about: Symphony #7.

Allan Kozinn writes:

"As a composer, Brady is entirely of his time, which is to say, eclectically rooted in the full range of modern styles, from neo-Romanticism to experimentalism and Minimalism [as well as] art-rock."


Heard on Starkland

Charles Amirkhanian
Ashley Bathgate
Phillip Bimstein
Martin Bresnick
Phyllis Chen
Jay Cloidt
Nathan Davis
Tod Dockstader
Paul Dolden
Paul Dresher
William Duckworth
Robert Een
Fred Frith
Ellen Fullman
David Garland
Peter Garland
International Contemporary Ensemble (ICE)
JACK Quartet
Janáček Philharmonic Orchestra
Aaron Jay Kernis
John King
Roger Kleier
Phil Kline
Guy Klucevsek
Kronos Quartet
Lukas Ligeti
Jenny Lin
Keeril Makan
Ingram Marshall
Meredith Monk
David Lee Myers
Lisa Moore
NakedEye Ensemble

Pauline Oliveros
Todd Reynolds
Frederic Rzewski
Elliott Sharp
Carl Stone
Lois V Vierk
Randall Woolf

Pamela Z
John Zorn
and more






© 1997-2019 Starkland